qtDesigner does not start

Standard

I’m starting to playing with desktop interfaces, I use KDE and I like a lot Qt controls. Furthermore, are multiplatform, so combined with python I can do beautilful programs in a easy way.

So I’d installed Qt4 Designer on my work’s laptop. But when I clicked on the Qt4 Designet icon, nothing happened.

I opened a terminal and run designer-qt in order to see what happened. This is what I saw:

$ designer-qt4
designer-qt4: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/qt4/plugins/designer/libqscintillaplugin.so: undefined symbol: _ZN13QsciScintillaC1EP7QWidget

Pretty weird, it seems something wrong with scintilla. So after reinstalling qscintilla and see that not solved my issue, I tried to recompile from sources instead of reinstalled

$ yaourt -S qscintilla –build

(please note that there are two hyphen (-) before the buid parameter)

Once finished, designer-qt started smoothly 🙂

Leave a Reply

