No sound at -each- boot!

Standard

Something very annoying began to happen on my work laptop. Every time I booted it, it was without sound.

The sound applet did not work, I could adjust the volume, and detected the sound card, but no sound came out of the speakers.

But the curious thing was I surely heard some youtube video before, so it stopped  from work suddenly…

After recheck my system detected de hardware with lspci, and the right modules were loaded with lsmod

# lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
# lsmod | grep -i intel
snd_hda_intel          31351  6
snd_hda_codec         129274  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm                63880  4 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          5978  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd                    44598  18 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
intel_agp               8692  1 i915
intel_gtt              10204  3 i915,intel_agp
agpgart                22047  3 drm,intel_agp,intel_gtt

I openned a terminal and execute alsamixer and I saw this:

alsamixer muted device

Those “MM” between the bar and the “100<>100” means that is “Muted”. To toggle between muted and unmuted we must use the “M” key. Then, if you have something playing, it will sound. 🙂

Now we can exit alsamixer by pressing the “Esc” key.

Even if in each reboot, I was again muted, it was very easy open a terminal, unmute the sound card, and done. As that laptop is my job tool, and I did use it mainly to connect to remote servers, to document, or to code some scripts, and rarely to listen music or to watch a video tutorial or something with audio, that worked fine for me… but I admit its annoying.

So, digging a bit deeper, I found alsactl and only by typing

# alsactl store

The configuration will be saved through the reboots 😉

Leave a Reply

